Laura Marling announces her eighth studio album, Patterns In Repeat

1 week ago 6

Patterns in Repeat was written, recorded and produced by Laura at her home studio in London. If 2020’s acclaimed Song For Our Daughter was written figuratively, and from the perspective of writing to and about a fictional daughter, Patterns in Repeat was written after the birth of her daughter in 2023, and finds Laura reflecting on the patterns at play in the constellation of a family.

“Over the course of nine months, I had happily prepared myself for the fact that my life as a songwriter would be put on hold while I adjusted to life as a new parent. How delighted then was I to discover that for the first few months of a baby's life, you can bounce them in a bouncer and play guitar all day," Marling says. "For the first time in my life, I was able to gaze into another human's eyes as I wrote. Of course, new parents feel like they discovered that feeling - one of the very finest that life has to offer, of looking into the eyes of your child and feeling the enormity of the picture as a whole, the enormity of a precarious life, celestial, fragile and extraordinary, taking its place among the comparatively banal constellation of a family."

“Being as I am, 34 years old, now 15 years and 8 albums into a life in song, I am unable to escape the fact that each record has served as a time-stamped chapter of my life (though some have appeared more a premonition)," she continues. "Now, here we are, following a youth spent desperately trying to understand what it is to be a woman, I am at the brow of the hill, with an entirely new and enormous perspective surrounding me.”

To support the album's release, Laura Marling will play two intimate live residencies in both London and New York. The residencies take in four nights at London’s Hackney Church on 29-30 October and 1-2 November and two nights in New York on 11-12 November at the Bowery Ballroom.


  1. Child of Mine
  2. Patterns
  3. Your Girl
  4. No One’s Gonna Love You Like I Can
  5. The Shadows
  6. Interlude
  7. Caroline
  8. Looking Back
  9. Lullaby
  10. Patterns in Repeat
Read Entire Article